What we do

CUPE 1230 represents full time, part time, and student casual workers at University of Toronto Libraries (UTL). CUPE 1230 organizes and works towards fairer work conditions for its membership of over 400 workers with regards to compensation, healthcare, job security, workers rights, and professional development.

Union matters are discussed during general membership meetings (GMMs), which are held monthly. Additional check-up meetings are also held on a regular basis and as required. All CUPE 1230 members are invited to attend and participate in these meetings. Meeting information is emailed prior to the meeting. If you are not receiving meeting and/or news information via email, please contact info@cupe1230.ca to be manually added to the mailing list.

Members are also encouraged to get involved by running for the various executive, steward, and committee positions. These positions are elected during annual elections, with by-elections arising as required to fill vacant positions. Please see the bylaws for more information on how the local is run and how representatives are elected.

CUPE 1230’s office is located in the John P. Robarts Research Library, 14th floor, room 14019. Please see the executive committee and stewards pages for complete information on contacting the various elected representatives at CUPE 1230. If you are a member and have any questions or concerns, please reach out to the steward in your respective department. If you cannot find a steward for your area of work, please contact info@cupe1230.ca.


Presidents of CUPE1230

  • 1986-1987: Mary Roddy
  • 1987-1990: Tom Bribriesco
  • 1991-1992: Hollis Joe
  • 1992-1993: Alan Scheer
  • 1994-1996: Ilka I. De Diego
  • 1996-1997: Mary Roddy
  • 1997-1999: Peter Mountain
  • 1999-2000: Joanne Lynes
  • 2000-2010: Ilka I. De Diego
  • 2010-2022: Wasyl Sydorenko
  • 2022-Feb 2024: Paul Whittam
  • Mar 2024-present: Alex Jung